Let’s just kill him/her! (My theory)

So I have this theory where I believe that authors just want me to cry and live in pain. Why do I say so?

Well, Let’s see….. Because they kill everyone I F***ING LOVE. I believe their thought process goes pretty much like this: Oh look at this lovely character which everyone is going to adore… LETS KILL IT!

I’m sure most of you out there have experienced this kind of torture. For example take the last book I read, The Fault In Our Stars. The last few chapters, I sobbed and sobbed and sobbed and I just couldn’t stop because he killed Augustus Waters! HE EFFING KILLED HIM! I tried so hard not to cry, and for some reason I was so sure I would not cry when he died. But FUUUUUUUUUU….

I believe that writers have to cause some kind of pain to their readers so they feel completely satisfied. And I know that this they don’t do it purposely but writers seriously need to stop causing me pain.

 

Kill me now,

Weasley

 

P.S: This post was written when I was in a post-TheFaultInOurStars-trauma and I just couldn’t help myself so I may sound a bit frustrated.

5 thoughts on “Let’s just kill him/her! (My theory)

  1. I agree that it’s frustrating when authors kill off favorite characters. As a reader, though, it sometimes helps me decide whether I liked the book. It’s a raw emotion that I don’t always expect. For example, I remember when I first read The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings (long before the movies…), I hated Frodo because I loved and missed Bilbo so much. But then there’s a scene (I forget the details) where you think Frodo is dead. I found myself crying. It wasn’t until then that I realized I had grown attached to Frodo and my hatred was just me being stubborn. It shows that Tolkien did an amazing job getting the reader attached to the character.

    On the other hand, I just read a trilogy where the main character dies in the last chapters of the third book and I simply didn’t care. This author didn’t do a good job of getting the reader attached to the character and it truly says something about the quality of the story.

    But, yes, when an author kills off a character you like, it’s strangely painful.

    • I never really thought of it in that sense. While I was reading the book and I knew Augustus was going to die I felt I wouldn’t cry later, and that I would be really prepared upon his death. But I did! I knew I loved the character from the very beginning but I just didn’t realise how emotionally attached I’d got to the character until he died.

Leave a Reply

