“The only thing humans have in common is that they are different”

Over dinner with a few friends of my parents I heard about something known as the MBTI test. It stands for The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. Now, it’s just a test which helps provide an analysis of your personality and it is much detailed than many personality tests online. On the basis of your answers it divides you into one of its sixteen categories, the categories represent the many personality types. I bet one you reading this thought “isn’t that just stereotyping”, I did too, but no. That’s not what this test is about.

What the excellent feature this test offers is that it helps you look at people with a different perspective and makes you love them and understand them better. You learn to acknowledge the fact that, there are many people out there and each one them behaves, thinks and functions differently. To put it in simple words it makes you see different perspectives and at the same time helps you discover yourself so much better. Statistics show that 85% of the people found that the report gave them an accurate description of their personality type, which in turn helped them accept themselves and sometimes even boost their self-confidence!

Well, the only reason I’m blogging about this test is because my whole family took it and the results really helped strengthen our bond. We took pride in our uniqueness and appreciated our difference. So take this test to broaden your view of the world and the humans that inhabit it. Take this test so you moderately understand your super annoying brother or analyse why you and your best friend are fighting! Because believe me our time is too short too be judging others, it’s time we celebrate our uniqueness!

Well after taking the test I discovered that I’m a ESFJ. It stands for Extraverted Sensing Feeling Judging (Extraverted Feeling with Introverted Sensing). I belong to the ‘Care-giver’ category. I really hope you’ll go ahead and embrace your awesomeness and let me know which type you belong to, please comment because I would love to hear your views about these type quizzes!

I suggest you visit http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/jtypes2.asp to explore and analyse your personality type!

Love,

Potter

4 thoughts on ““The only thing humans have in common is that they are different”

  1. I was given the test many years ago. As I recall I am an INFP , I think that stands for introverted, intuitive, feeling, perceiver.

    I love what you have to say about how the test helps us to see life through the lens of another personality type…this is so true. Anything that helps me to be a better friend to my fellow man, woman and child is a good thing 😉

Leave a Reply

